West Michigan Lake Hawks open season with weekend home wins

LocalSportsJournal.com

Jalen Ragland and Malik London led the West Michigan Lake Hawks to a pair of season opening wins over the weekend. 

Ragland tallied 32 points in Saturday’s 123-112 defeat of the Illinois Bulldogs.

London put up a triple-double on Sunday with 22 points, 13 rebounds and 10 blocks as West Michigan topped Oakland County, 120-63.

On Saturday, West Michigan built a 36-25 first quarter lead off the hot hand of Terry Walker who scored all 13 of his points in the first quarter.

Xavier Fletcher scored 20 points and London finished with 18 points, 16 rebounds, five assists and five blocks. Muskegon Heights graduate Deontae Hudson added 14 points, 11 assists and seven rebounds while J’Ron Anderson had 11 points and five assists for the Lake Hawks.

West Michigan was led in scoring on Sunday by Anthony McDaniel with 24 points while Marquis Brewer finished with 23 points. Anderson had a double-double with 20 points and 20 assists.

The Lake Hawks continue play on Saturday as they host Team Network at Reeths-Puffer High School for a 5 p.m. tipoff.

Lake Hawks 2017-18 schedule:

Saturday, Nov. 18 (5 p.m.) – Team NetWork at West Michigan Lake Hawks
Sunday, Nov. 19 (4 p.m.) – West Michigan Lake Hawks at Libertyville, IL
Saturday, Dec. 2 (5 p.m.) – Libertyville at West Michigan Lake Hawks 
Sunday, Dec. 3 (5 p.m.) – La Crosse at West Michigan Lake Hawks
Saturday, Dec. 9 (4 p.m.) – West Michigan Lake Hawks at Team Network
Sunday, Dec. 10 (5 p.m.) – West Michigan Lake Hawks at Oakland County
Saturday, Dec. 16 (5 p.m.) – Chicago Fury at West Michigan Lake Hawks
Sunday, Dec. 17 (5 p.m.) – Chicago Knights at West Michigan Lake Hawks
Saturday, Dec. 23 (3 p.m.) – West Michigan Lake Hawks at Kentucky
Sunday, Jan. 7 (5 p.m.) Illinois at West Michigan Lake Hawks
Saturday, Jan. 13 (5 p.m.) Team Network at West Michigan Lake Hawks
Saturday, Jan. 20 (6 p.m.) West Michigan Lake Hawks at La Crosse
Sunday, Jan. 21 (4 p.m.) West Michigan Lake Hawks at Windy City
Saturday, Jan. 27 (5 p.m.) Kentucky at West Michigan Lake Hawks
Saturday, Feb. 3 (5 p.m.) La Crosse at West Michigan Lake Hawks
Saturday, Feb. 10 (4 p.m.) West Michigan Lake Hawks at Chicago
Sunday, Feb. 11 (4 p.m.) West Michigan Lake Hawks at Chicago
Saturday, Feb. 25 (5 p.m.) Team NetWork at West Michigan Lake Hawks
Saturday, March 3 (5 p.m.) Windy City at West Michigan Lake Hawks
Sunday, March 4 (5 p.m.) Oakland County at West Michigan Lake Hawks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *