Here are the district playoff pairings for area high school football teams

Local Sports Journal

Here are the district assignments for the eight area high school football teams that qualified for the MHSAA playoffs.

Hosting first-round games include Muskegon in Division 2,  Oakridge and Newaygo in Division 5,  Shelby in Division 6 and Muskegon Catholic in District 8.

Hitting the road will be Fruitport in Division 3, Grant in Division 5  and Montague in Division 6

Region 1
District 2
GR Kenowa Hills (5-4) at Muskegon (8-1)
GR Northview (7-2) at Lowell (7-2)

Region 2
District 1
Zeeland West (6-3) at Zeeland East (9-0)
Fruitport (8-1) at Grand Rapids Christian (8-1)

Region 2
District 1
Manistee (6-3) at Reed City (9-0)
Grant (6-3) at Newaygo (7-2)

Region 2
District 2
Buchanan (7-2) at Oakridge (9-0)
GR West Catholic (6-3) at Hopkins (9-0)

Region 1
District 2
Kalkaska (7-2) at Shelby (7-2)
Maple City Glen Lake (8-1) at Boyne City (8-1)

Region 1
District 1
Calvin Christian (7-2) at Ithaca (9-0)
Montague (8-1) at Hemlock (8-1)

Region 3
District 1
Baldwin (6-2) at Fowler (8-1)
Vestaburg (6-3) at Muskegon Catholic (6-3)



Pre-district games will be played this weekend, with most games expected to be scheduled for 7 p.m. Friday night. Official game days and times will be finalized on Monday.

A total of 237 teams in the state qualified for the playoff based on winning six games in a nine-game schedule or five victories in an eight-game schedule

The remaining 19 teams chosen were 5-4 and had the highest playoff points in their respective classes.  Five 5-4 teams were chosen in Class A, B and C. Four teams qualified in Class D with a 5-4 record.

Spring Lake and North Muskegon both finished 5-4 were hopeful of making the playoffs based on computer points, but neither was included in the 256-team field.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *