Local Sports Journal

Fruitport High School has announced inductees for its first Fruitport Athletics Hall of Fame.

Two teams, two staff/community members and six athletes will be honored at a banquet on March 9 at Oak Ridge Golf Club.

Teams to be honored include the 1937-38 boys basketball district champions and the 2005 volleyball team that captured the Class B state title.

In the staff/community category, Fruitport will honored Dr. Robert Pierce, who served as the team physician from 1969 until 2011 and wrestling coach Dan Brink, who coached 1987-97.

Athletes to be honored include Matt Brink (wrestling, football), who graduated in 1996, cross country and track star Tom Chorny (1995), track and football player Mark Langlois (2002), track standout Karla Link (1981), baseball, football and basketball star Jack Spencer (1965) and football and track standout Mike Teeter (1996).

An open house celebration will be March 8 at the high school.

More information on the weekend activities will be released at a later date.