Local Sports Journal

The area was well represented on the boys soccer all-state teams released by the Michigan High School Soccer Coaches Association.

A total of 35 players earned honors ranging from Dream Team to honorable mention.

The highest honor went to Spring Lake’s Adam Clauss, a four-year starter, who was named to the Dream Team. That squad is the best players in the state regardless of class.

Clauss, a senior, manned the midfield for the Lakers, who spent much of the season ranked No. 1 in Division 2 and also ranked highly in the Super Six. Spring Lake’s only loss of the season came to eventual state champion Hudsonville Unity Christian.

The area had four other first-team selections in Orchard View senior Andrew Edwards in Division 3, Whitehall’s Chris Saunders, also in Division 3, Marcol Moul from Hart in Division 4 and North Muskegon’s Zach Rummery, also in Division 4.

Here are the area players honored by the MHSSCA:

Division 1
Second team
Willie Bennink, Grand Haven, sr., midfielder
Honorable mention

Kevin LaCroix, Graned Haven, sr., defender
Jacob Carlson, Mona Shores, sr., forward
Joey Wolffis, Mona Shores, sr., goalkeeper
Christian Zurchauer, Mona Shores, jr., forward

Division 2
First team
Adam Clauss, Spring Lake, sr., midfielder
Second team
Riley Kammeraad, Spring Lake, sr., midfielder
Honorable mention
Taylor McLaughlin, Fruitport, sr., defender
Loghan Stong, Fruitport, sr., goalkeeper
Bradley Macomber, Reeths-Puffer, jr., midfielder
KJ Sanchez, Spring Lake, sr., midfielder

Division 3
First team
Bradley Edwards, Orchard View, sr. defender
Chris Saunders, Whitehall, sr., forward
Second team
Ray Copley, Whitehall, sr., forward
Isaac Love, Whitehall, sr., goalkeeper
Third team
James Hendricks, Orchard View, sr. defender
Honorable mention
Miguel Munoz-Martin, Ludington, sr., midfielder
Jacob Schoon, Ludington, sr., defender
Carlos Nunez, Orchard View, jr., foward
Brandon Rowell, Orchard View, sr., forward
Kalup Bentz, Whitehall, sr., midfielder
Nick Rands, Whitehall, sr., forward

Division 4
First team
Marcos Moul, Hart, sr., forward
Zach Rummery, North Muskegon, sr., midfielder
Second team
Jeremy Joyce, Muskegon Catholic, sr., midfielder
Keith Kuharevicz, Muskegon Catholic, sr., midfielder
Josh Binnendyk, Western Michigan Christian, sr., defender
Third team
Sammy Hernandez, Hart, fr., midfielder
Spencer Wallis, North Muskegon, sr., defender
Honorable mention
Drew Maine, Fruitport Calvary Christian, sr., forward
Nick Rombach, Hart, jr., forward
Todd Hall, Muskegon Catholic, jr., goalkeeper
Jesse Dunn, North Muskegon, jr., goalkeeper
Alec Breit, Western Michigan Christian, sr., midfielder
Chaise Schuiteman, Western Michigan Christian, jr., forward