Local Sports Journal

The teams have been formed for the second USHL/NHL Prospects Game set for Jan. 26 at L.C. Walker Arena.

The top NHL draft-eligible players will be on hand to showcase their skills for hockey fans, college scouts and professional scouts.

Gametime is 7:15 p.m. and tickets are sale at the Walker Arena box office.

A total of 27 players selected are in their first year of eligibility for the NHL Draft.

Selections of players was made in cooperation with USHL general managers, NHL scouts and team personnel and NHL Scouting.

All 16 USHL Member Clubs have at least one player selected to participate in the event, including the Muskegon Lumberjacks, who have four players competing – Cam Darcy, Frederik Tiffels, Michael Brodzinski and Ben Storm.

The 2013 NHL Entry Draft is scheduled for June at the Prudential Center in Newark, N.J.

A total of 28 players who spent the 2011-12 season in the USHL were selected in the 2012 NHL Draft, including a record six in the first round.

Luke Voltin – Des Moines Buccaneers
Luke Johnson – Lincoln Stars
Vinni Lettieri – Lincoln Stars
Drew Melanson – Omaha Lancers
Jake Guentzel – Sioux City Musketeers
Conor McGlynn – Sioux City Musketeers
Jake Montgomery – Sioux City Musketeers
Jason Cotton – Tri-City Storm
Garrett Gamez – Tri-City Storm
Trevor Moore – Tri-City Storm
Taylor Cammarata – Waterloo Black Hawks
Justin Kloos – Waterloo Black Hawks

Rinat Valiev – Indiana Ice
Justin Woods – Lincoln Stars
Tucker Poolman – Omaha Lancers
Blake Heinrich – Sioux City Musketeers
Ryan Ivey – Tri-City Storm
Ian McCoshen – Waterloo Black Hawks

Eamon McAdam – Waterloo Black Hawks
Cal Petersen – Waterloo Black Hawks

Ross Olsson – Cedar Rapids RoughRiders
Thomas Ebbing – Chicago Steel
Christian Heil – Chicago Steel
Peter Quenneville – Dubuque Fighting Saints
John Stevens – Dubuque Fighting Saints
Gabe Guertler – Fargo Force
Brendan Harms – Fargo Force
Alex Kile – Green Bay Gamblers
Cam Darcy – Muskegon Lumberjacks
Frederik Tiffels – Muskegon Lumberjacks
John Hayden – Team USA
Austin Cangelosi – Youngstown Phantoms

Ian Brady – Cedar Rapids RoughRiders
Michael Downing – Dubuque Fighting Saints
Jordan Gross – Green Bay Gamblers
Gustav Olofsson – Green Bay Gamblers
Michael Brodzinski – Muskegon Lumberjacks
Ben Storm – Muskegon Lumberjacks

Arthur Brey – Dubuque Fighting Saints
Charlie Lindgren – Sioux Falls Stampede