Local Sports Journal

For the second week in a row, the Muskegon Community College Jayhawk wrestling squad was the only junior college in the house at Olivet. This week, however, the overmatched Jayhawks battled the best the opposing team could put on the mat in dual meets instead of a tournament format.

MCC finished 1-2, but it was not a day Coach Mark Brunger would hold his head down about.

“When Coach Brissette (Olivet head coach) emailed me a month ago asking who we wanted to wrestle my response was simple, we’ll wrestle anyone,” said Brunger. “We are very talented, but really young. In order to learn, we need to be exposed for our mistakes against more seasoned juniors and seniors.”

The No. 19 ranked Jayhawks wrestled Olivet in round one and lost 31-9 winning just two matches in the contest.  In the second round, MCC faced Trine University and won all nine contests including an exciting first period pin by 133 pounder Zack Cooper (Freshman/Whitehall) over Trine University Junior Brandon Preston who is ranked No. 8 at 133 pounds in Div. III.

In its last round, MCC dropped a tough dual against No. 11 ranked (NAIA) Indiana Tech by a score of 24-12.

“Against Indiana Tech, we had many opportunities to win matches that could have turned the tide,” said Brunger. “We really got better as the day went on and we learned a lot. We will be improved and ready when we get back on that mat at Niagara,” Brunger added.

Zack Cooper remained unbeaten on the season, stretching his record to 13-0.  Other wrestlers with winning records on the day were 165-pound Lukas Gilmore (Freshman/Greenville), 184 Mason Courtright (Freshman/Shelby), 197 Donavan Fouchey (Freshman/Oscoda) and 285 Shawn Chamberlain (Sophomore/Dexter) who were all 2-1 on the day.

MCC resluts:
Olivet College         31         Muskegon CC         9
125         Kyle Gilles (OC)         Won by Decision         Devane Dodgens (MCC)         9-3
133         Zachary Cooper (MCC)         Won by Fall         Damian Johnson (OC)         1:48
141         Justin Holm (OC)         Won by Forfeit         —
149         Gage Peterson (OC)         Won by Maj.Decision         Elvis Peacock (MCC)         15-5
157         Kyle Witgen (OC)         Won by Maj.Decision         Jason Peacock (MCC)         18-5
165         Lukas Gilmore (MCC)         Won by Decision         Eddie Nuttall (OC)         9-4
174         Nick Allen (OC)         Won by Maj.Decision         Joe Sika (MCC)         12-2
184         Jeff Holm (OC)         Won by Decision         Steven Malloy (MCC)         5-1
197         Andrew Simpson (OC)         Won by Decision         Donavan Fouchey (MCC)         4-0
285         Ryan Steverson (OC)         Won by Decision         Shawn Chamberlain (MCC)         3-2

Muskegon CC   39         Trine   6
125         Devane Dodgens (MCC)         Won by Decision         Matt Frane (TU)         11-7
133         Zachary Cooper (MCC)         Won by Fall         Brandon Preston (TU)         2:09
141         Levi Grabor (TU)         Won by Forfeit         —
149         Elvis Peacock (MCC)         Won by Fall         Adam Bolles (TU)         1:59
157         Jason Peacock (MCC)         Won by Forfeit         —
165         Lukas Gilmore (MCC)         Won by Fall         Isaiah Hill (TU)         4:11
174         Joe Sika (MCC)         Won by Forfeit         —
184         Steven Malloy (MCC)         Won by Decision         Shane Henrickson (TU)         3-2
197         Donavan Fouchey (MCC)         Won by Decision         Mike Conner (TU)         7-4
285         Shawn Chamberlain         Won by Fall         Matt Beard (TU)         :46

Indiana Tech         25         Muskegon CC         12
125         Kris McKinley (ITU)         Won by Decision 2OT         Devane Dodgens (MCC)         4-2
133         Zachary Cooper (MCC)         Won by Decision         Mitch Pawlak (ITU)         4-1
141         Travis Barroquill (ITU)         Won by Forfeit         —
149         Adam Fahs (ITU)         Won by Decision         Elvis Peacock (MCC)         7-0
157         Chase Hack (ITU)         Won by Decision         Jason Peacock (MCC)         7-5
165         KaFuba Donzon (ITU)         Won by Decision         Lukas Gilmore (MCC)         7-3
174         Darryl Grayson (ITU)         Won by Maj.Decision         Joe Sika (MCC)         11-3
184         Taylor DeLong (ITU)         Won by Decision         Mason Courtright (MCC)         9-6
197         Donavan Fouchey (MCC)         Won by Decision         Brandon Sunday (ITU)         3-2
285         Shawn Chamberlain (MCC)         Won by Fall         Andre Dunn (ITU)         :26

Exhibition Matches
184         Mason Courtright (MCC)         Won by Fall         Collin Rankin (Alma)         2:41
197         Nick Fruits (Trine)         Won by Fall         Myron Hosey (MCC)         5:48
184         Mason Courtight (MCC)         Won by Maj.Decision         Durtham Basso (Alma)         16-7
197         Myron Hosey (MCC)         Won by Decision         Dalton Smallwood (Olivet)         4-2