By Shawn Liverance
Local Sports Journal

The dream of winning an individual state wrestling championship is still alive for 30 local wrestlers after opening round matches at the Individual State Wrestling Finals at The Palace of Auburn Hills on Thursday.

Hesperia led the way with seven wrestlers winning Division 4 opening round matches.

Hesepria’s Trenton Roesly (135), Chase Siersema (140), Mark Workman (160), Davian Gowens (103), Corey Agens (103), Zack Yates (145) and Logan Eaves (145) all won their first matches and are still in contemtion for state titles.

Sheby and Whitehall both had four wrestlers each win Division 3 first round mathches.

Moving on to the championship quarterfinals for Shelby was Dylan Unger (140), Anthony Guerra (152), Forrest Courtright (160) and Teddy Barco-Trevino (103).

Whitehall’s Dakota Hoffman (152), Hunter Shaw (285), Corey Robinson (103) and Reiley Brown (119) also are still alive for state titles.

Wrestlers who lost their first match can still place as high as third and earn all-state honors by placing in the top-eight of their respective weight classes.

Those wrestlers are in Division 1, Grand Haven’s Dakota Juarez (160) and Chase VanHoef (285) and Mona Shores’ Taylor McPhail (145).

In Division 2, Fruitport’s Austin Fialek (152) and Chris Hendricks (285) and Spring Lake’s Sawyer Smith (160).

Division 3 wrestlers still alive for all-state honors after losing opening round matches are Grant’s Niko Guajardo (140), Mason County Central’s Spencer Knizacky (152), Josh Quinn (189) and Trever Skinner (125), Fremont’s Luke Spotts (130) and Orchard View’s Mike Parker (145).

In Division 4, Hart’s Spencer Reterstoff (160), Holton’s Garrett Martin (130) and Kent City’s Shane Rodenburg (171) and Tom Devos (285) can still finish as high as third in their respective weight classes.

Wrestling continues on Friday with championship round quarterfinals at 11 a.m. and semifinals at 7 p.m.