By Shawn Liverance
Local Sports Journal

The quest to become an individual state wrestling champion kicks off on Thursday at the Individual State Finals at The Palace of Auburn Hills.

56 local wrestlers will be looking to win the five matches needed to become a state champion.

Action kicks off on Thursday with the opening round of championship round matches.

Wrestling continues on Friday with championship quarterfinal and semifinal matches.

Saturday wrestling concludes with the consolation finals at 11:30 a.m. and the championship finals at 4:45 p.m.

Any wrestler finishing in the top-eight of their respective weight class will earn all-state honors.

Zack Yates will look to become a two-time state champion and run Hesperia’s streak to 12 straight seasons of having a state champion when he competes once again at 125 pounds in the Division 4 finals.

Two other local wrestlers will look to take the next step and win a Division 4 state championship after coming up short in the finals last year.

Hesperia’s Chase Siersema, who placed second last year at 135 pounds will wrestle at 140 pounds this year.

Hart’s Spencer Reterstoff will wrestle at 160 pounds this year after placing second in the Division 4 finals a year ago at 152 pounds.

Grand Haven’s Dakota Juarez, Kent City’s Shane Rodenburg, Holton’s Hayden Cregg, Spring Lake’s Sawyer Smith and Hesperia’s David Jacobs, Mark Workman and Davian Gowins and Trenton Roesly will all look to repeat as all-state wrestlers this season.

The following is a complete list of local wrestlers competing at the state finals and their opening round match.


Mona Shores

135: Adam Pawlowski, Mona Shores (41-4) vs. Thomas Keyes, Troy Athens (41-3). 135: Taylor McPhail, Mona Shores (39-4) vs. Jacob Balogh, Southgate Anderson (46-6).

Grand Haven

152: Aaron Cummings, Grand Haven (28-11) vs. Brenden McRill, Davison (24-12). 160: Dakota Juarez, Grand Haven (38-0) vs. Zach Carter, Waterford Kettering (37-12).  285: Chase VanHoef, Grand Haven (34-5) vs. Ali Wahab, Dearborn Heights-Crestwood (54-5).



135: Tommy Martinez, Fruitport (40-3) vs. Theodore Lossing, Riverview (40-10). 145: Collin Butler, Fruitport (42-2) vs. Steven Kymes, Sault St. Marie (46-3). 152: Austin Fialek, Fruitport (44-3) vs. Dustin Clapp, Stevensville-Lakeshore (32-13). 285: Chris Hendricks, Fruitport (41-1) vs. Jacob Gnegy, St. Johns (11-7); Kylan Sherman, Fruitport (10-4) vs. Dauson Petty, West Branch-Ogemaw Heights (37-2). 112: Cameron Butler, Fruitport (32-8) vs. Ian Parker, St. Johns (43-0).


140: Connor McKinnon, Reeths-Puffer (40-6) vs. Trevor Bourdeau, Ortonville-Brandon (44-6).

Spring Lake

160: Sawyer Smith, Spring Lake (32-2) vs. Max Wardell, Ortonville-Brandon (39-7). 125: George Nietering, Spring Lake (34-8) vs. Garrett Kaercher, Warren-Lincoln (43-9).



135: Chase Hicks, Grant (31-7) vs. Austin Vannatter, Richmond (29-10). 140: Niko Guarjardo, Grant (12-3) vs. Brad Scholl, Dundee (20-8).

Mason County Central

140: Logan Merrick, Mason County Central (47-5) vs. Doug Rojem, Dundee (41-5). 145: Jordan Steiger. Mason County Central (37-9) vs. Kyle Simaz, Allegan (55-1). 152: Spencer Knizacky, Mason County Central (44-9) vs. Noah Bargouthy, Essexville-Garber (29-10). 189: Josh Quinn, Mason County Central (50-2) vs. Greg Stark, Armada (33-9). 285: Doug Wyman, Mason County Central (47-3) vs. Tristan Howard, Dowagiac-Union (36-5). 125: Trever Skinner, Mason County Central (46-2) vs. Kyle Hughes, Monroe Jefferson (39-9). 130: Jacob Shoop, Mason County Central (37-6) vs. Zane Corey, Allegan (42-3).


140: Kalub Dodge, Newaygo (27-16) vs. Zehlin Storr, Leslie (57-0).

Orchard View

140: Frederick Waller, Orchard View (32-11) vs. Nick Burg, Richmond (32-4). 145: Mike Parker, Orchard View (35-8) vs. Mason Dey, Chippewa Hills (34-16).


140: Dylan Unger, Shelby (39-7) vs. Charlie Ferens, Freeland (49-6). 152: Anthony Guerra, Shelby (41-4) vs. Chris Copper, Jackson Lumen Christi (35-12). 160: Forrest Courtright, Shelby (41-7) vs. Jess Levier, Sanford-Meridian (29-13). 103: Teddy Barco-Trevino, Shelby (41-5) vs. Patrick Ford, Caro (43-9).


152: Dakota Hoffman, Whitehall (33-10) vs. Cody Sanders, Linden-Lake Fenton (36-9). 160: Trip Thommen, Whitehall (28-14) vs. Kyle Schwark, Macomb-Lutheran North (43-7). 285: Hunter Shaw, Whitehall (31-9) vs. Tim Smith, Benzie Central (33-11). 103: Corey Robinson, Whitehall (32-9) vs. Edwin Hernandez, Saginaw-Swan Valley (42-9). 119: Reiley Brown, Whitehall (38-3) vs. Anthony Delarosa, Jackson Lumen Christi (38-14). 130: Jwan Britton, Whitehall (32-11) vs. Damian Castillo, Alma (46-6).



135: Arturo Perez, Hart (23-24) vs. Caleb Richter, Lutheran Westland (42-4). 160: Spencer Reterstoff, Hart (43-2) vs. Joey Durham, Blanchard-Montabella (35-4). 189: Carl Morgan, Hart (33-8) vs. Charlie Robertson, Sand Creek (36-4).


135: Trenton Roesly, Hesperia (45-3) vs. Carlos Randall, Hudson (13-11). 140: Chase Siersema, Hesperia (39-3) vs. Matthew Potter, Calvin Christian (34-9). 145: David Jacobs, Hesperia (33-11) vs. Alex Goldsberry, Gobles (32-6). 160: Mark Workman, Hesperia (22-2) vs. Collin Henry, Marlette (48-5). 103: Davian Gowens, Hesperia (18-3) vs. Chaz Kehres, Dansville (16-6); Corey Agens, Hesperia (36-8) vs. Dayton VanderPloeg, Martin (32-7). 125: Zack Yates, Hesperia (41-0) vs. Dillon Solomon, Saginaw Michigan Lutheran Seminary (39-12); Logan Eaves, Hesperia (34-15) vs. Dalton Birchmeier, New Lothrop (38-10).


140: Hayden Cregg, Holton (34-7) vs. Jacob Sobeck, Rogers City (53-2). 119: Brendan Cregg, Holton (30-10) vs. Ishmael Hodge, Bangor (35-9). 130: Garrett Martin, Holton (25-5) vs. Collin Haag, Addison (40-11).

Kent City

140: Brendon Rodenburg, Kent City (45-4) vs. Cole Gonzalez, Norway (41-4). 152: K.J. Herremans, Kent City (37-12) vs. Andy Waterman, Constantine (37-7). 171: Shane Rodenburg, Kent City (49-1) vs. Tylor Grames, Hudson (16-16). 285: Tom Devos, Kent City (29-6) vs. Nick Burt, Addison (37-10).


135: Gabe Flood, Montague (24-8) vs. Brock Thumm, Watervliet (36-0).


189: Gabe Zimmer, Ravenna (31-10) vs. Cody Mikel, Schoolcraft (34-5).