Local Sports Journal

Whitehall flexed its cross country muscle at the Greater Muskegon Athletic Association’s City Meet on Friday afternoon.

The Vikings captured both the boys and girls team  titles along with both individual titles.

teams line up

Boys cross country teams line up at the start of the GMAA. Photo/Jason Goorman

The Whitehall boys team finished with 52 points, easily outdistancing Mona Shores, which had 87 points. As in golf, the lower score wins in cross country.

Whitehall’s Keaton Smith won the boys race and set a new course record at University Park Golf Course with a time of 16:09.75.

The Whitehall girls team totaled 47 points, inching out second place Mona Shores, which had 51.

Whitehall's Keaton Smith set the new course record at 16:09.75

Whitehall’s Keaton Smith set the new course record at 16:09.75

Whitehall’s Jessica Harris was the individual winner with a time of 18:46. She was pushed by teammate Maya Hector, who finished one second behind Harris (18:47.85).

North Muskegon finished third in the boys competition, followed by Orchard View, Fruitport, Western Michigan Christian, Oakridge, Montague, Reeths-Puffer, Holton, Muskegon and Ravenna.

Fruitport Calvary Christian’s Brendan Hamilton finished second in the boys race with a 16:14.27 time. Braxton Snuffer from Western Michigan Christian finished third at 16:31.81.

Rounding out the top 10 runners in the  boys race were Fruitport’s Aaron King (16:32.83), North Muskegon’s Wesley Collins (16:34.04), Holton’s Jacob Tanner (16:38.57), Whitehall’s Robert Champion (16:45.64), Whitehall’s .Alex Dennis (16:50.23), Mona Shores’ Bailey Brown (16:51.03) and Orchard View’s Sam Dueling (17:02.10).

Reeths-Puffer took third place in the girls standings, followed by Ravenna, North Muskegon, Fruitport, Western Michigan Christian, Montague and Orchard View.


Jessica Harris took first place overall for Whitehall.

The rest of the top 10 individuals in the  girls race  were Mona Shores’ Jackie Seward (19:21.59), Reeths-Puffer’s Maryssa Depies (19:30.14), North Muskegon’s Avery Lowe (19:33.57), Reeths-Puffer’s Jayme Brantsen (19:34.33), Mona Shores’ Morgan Dennison (19:42.86), Montague’s Kenadee Shugars (20:07.18), Whitehall’s  Avley Hentcschel (20:08.9) and Mona Shores’ Peyton Erndteman (20:26.1).