Local Sports Journal

Nineteen local high school wrestlers won championships in their weight classes Saturday in various Division 2, 3 and 4 individual district tournaments, while dozens more also qualified for next week’s regionals.

The top four wrestlers in each weight class qualified for regionals.

In Division 1, Grand Haven three district champions in Camden Bertucci (125), Antonio Reyes (135) and Chase Vanhoef (285). Other qualifiers for the Bucs were Zac Marsman (112), Evan Johnson (140), Bryan Batten (145), Nick Mulcahy (189) and Jared Lancaster (215).

Mona Shores wrestlers who qualified for regionals were Sean Halverson (112), Sam Karel (152), Blake Cramer (171) and Nick Brown (215).

In Division 2, taking first place first honors for Reeths-Puffer were Paul Douglas (140), Sean McWilliams (160) and Max Briggs (215). Also qualifying for the Rockets were Michael Weissert (130), Connor McKinnon (145), Blake Ross (152), Dustin Murphy (160) and Dawson Romanosky (189).

Fruitport had four wrestlers qualify – Bailey Lynn (135), Levi Six (145), Antonio Stong (152) and Kylan Sherman (285).  Spring Lake’s Josef Hissom (160) also qualified for regionals.

In Division 3, Whitehall’s Reiley Brown (125) and Jwan Britton (135) both took first place in their weight classes. Hunter Bower (103), Corey Robinson (112), Roger Champion (119), Gabe Flood (130), Jojo Dowdell (140), Keanyn Brown (145), Luke Morningstar (160) and Trip Thommen (171) all advanced for the Vikings.

Shelby’s Trent Montambo (285) was the lone Tiger to win first place. Also moving on to regionals for Shelby were Teddy Barco (103), Dylan Felt (125), Austin Priese (130), Juan Cavazos (171) and Brendan Sawyer (189).

Grant’s Brian Hitts (160) took first place while Chase Hicks (140) and Rashaad Powell (285) moved on.

Fremont had two wrestlers qualify – Cade Breuker (135) and Will Hawkins (152).

Orchard View’s Mike Parker (160) was the lone Cardinal to reach regionals.

In Division 4, Hesperia had three district champions, including Gerrit Yates, who defeated teammate Logan Eaves for the title in the 135 weight class. Trenton Roesly (140) and Josh Ehrke (285) also captured first place in their weights for the Panthers.

Charles Figueroa (119) and Trentyn Gleason (145) also advanced for Hesperia.

Kent City’s Blake Armstrong (125) and Shane Rodenburg (171) won district titles. Josh Lee (103), Carlos Diaz (119), Ryan Bockheim (135) and Mason Bolt (215) qualified for the Eagles as well.

Hart’s Jacob Bosley (103) and Shawn Wulff (160) won district titles. Gus Gale (125), Andy Rendon (125), Arturo Perez (130) and Scott Pankow (152) also qualified foe regionals for the Pirates.

Ravenna had four wrestlers qualify, with Gabe Zimmer leading the way in the 189-pound weight class with a 7-3 decision over teammate Scott Hutson in the finals. Dylan Kiester (112) and Matthew Hutson (145) also advanced for the Bulldogs.

Montague’s Matthew Lipka (119), Brian Huffman (171) and Jacob Mosher (215) each qualified for regionals.

Holton’s Jordan Whitener took first place in the 130 weight class while Hayden Cregg (140) finished second.

Muskegon Catholic’s Brock Johnson (285) was the lone Crusader wrestler to qualify for regionals.