Twelve area high school wrestlers, including five from Hesperia and four from Whitehall, captured championships in their respective weight classes at individual regional tournaments on Saturday.LSJ Logo incert

The 12 champions, along with 34 other wrestlers who finished in the top four of their weight classes, all qualified for the individual state finals, scheduled for March 3-5 at the Palace of Auburn Hills.

Hesperia’s Division 4 champions were Davion Gowens (125), Gerrit Yates (145), Mark Workman (171), Josh Ehrke (285) and Robert Altland (103).

Leading the list of Whitehall Division 3 regional champions was Reilly Brown (135), who is in hot pursuit of his second straight individual state title. Also winning their weight classes for Whitehall were Juan Britton (140), JoJo Dowdell (145) and Hunter Bower (103).

Other local regional champions were Nick Felt from Shelby (125), Rashaad Powell from Grant (285) and Spencer Knizacky from Mason County Central (160).



Mona ShoresSean Halverson (112), third place; Sam Karel (152), fourth place.

Grand HavenCaleb Braley (119), fourth place; Juan Becerra (189), fourth place; Jared Lancaster (285), fourth place.


Reeths-PufferBlake Ross (152), fourth place; Sean McWilliams (160), fourth place; Max Briggs (215), fourth place; Caleb Jensen (112), fourth place.


Whitehall Corey Robinson (119), second place; Allen Powers (125), third place; Josh Thommen (140), second place; Joe Haynes (152), third place; Luke Morningstar (189), fourth place.

Shelby Riley Peterson (135), third place; Jon Hughey (140), fourth place.

GrantJacob Courturier, (112), fourth place; Jagarr Jenerou (125), second place.

Orchard ViewAlex Cantu (103), second place.


Hesperia Trentyn Gleason (140), second place; Logan Eaves (140), third place.

Hart Noah Cantu (112), second place; Jacob Bosley (112), third place;
Carlos Garza (160), third place.

Ravenna Dylan Kiester (119), fourth place.

Kent City Evan Jones (130), fourth place; Ryan Bockheim (135), second place; Blake Ainsley (135), fourth place.

Muskegon CatholicBrock Johnson (285), second place.

Mason CentralLogan Merrick (145), second place; Jacob Shoop (152), second place; Carlos Garza (160), third place; Eldon McCabe (171), fourth place; Jon Zoscsak (285), fourth place.