Eight area wrestlers win regional titles, 36 qualify for individual state finals


Local area wrestlers took part in Michigan High School Athletic Association individual wrestling regionals throughout the state on Saturday.

In total, the area had eight individual wrestlers crowned as regional champions while 36 individuals qualified for the individual state finals on March 6-7 at Ford Field in Detroit.

In Division 2, Jack Parker (112) of Spring Lake and Hunter McCall (215) of Reeths-Puffer were each individual champions in their respective weight classes.

 RJ Thome (103) of Fremont was the lone regional champion for the Muskegon area in Division 3.

Hart had three regional champions in Division 4 with Chance Alvesteffer (130), Mason Cantu (135) and Tanner Breitwisch (285) each bringing home titles. Also winning regional championships in Division 4 were Jayden Williams (119) of Kent City and Zach Quinn (152) of Mason County Central.

The following is a list of state final qualifiers listed by high school.

Division 1

Grand Haven: Trevor Rademaker (152)

Division 2

Fruitport: Crue Cooper (189)

Reeths-Puffer: Jacob Blawat (119), James Rozycki (152), Colby Stephenson (189), Hunter McCall (215)

Spring Lake: Max Montgomery (103), Jack Parker (112)

Whitehall: Max Brown (130), Nicholas Blanchard (135), Jacob Haynes (152), Ira Jenkins (171), Kayleb Venema (189)

Division 3

Fremont: RJ Thome (103), Trey Breuker (152), Michael Romero (189), Kyler Kolk (215)

Montague: Cale Coppess (119)

Orchard View: Brendan Hyatt (125), Daniel Woodring (171), Jordan Tuttle (285)

Shelby: Jakob Whitlow (189), Zachary Park (285)

Division 4

Hart: Trayce Tate (112), Trenton Swihart (112), Spencer Vanderzwaag (125), Chance Alvesteffer (130), Mason Cantu (135), Jerry Brandel (145), Thomas Tanner (152), Leo Guadarrama (171), Braeden Carskadon (215), Tanner Breitwisch (285)

Hesperia: Aydan Sturtevant-Roes (112), Mack Baird (130), River Roberson (130), Korbin Klaus (140)

Kent City: Zane Kik (103), Jayden Williams (119)

Mason County Central: Carter Hirschfeld (130), Zach Quinn (152), Andrew Quinn (189)

Ravenna: Kevin Spoelman (119), Zeke Thompson (160)  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *