Grant and Fremont walked away co-champs at Hesperia volleyball’s annual Lori Vargas Volley Against Violence Tournament where 15 teams competed in the 12-hour awareness event.

Hesperia, Newaygo, White Cloud, Fremont, Grant, Marion, Cedar Springs, Pentwater, Chippewa Hills, Reed City, Tri-County, Frankfort and Onekama were all returning teams while Mason County Eastern and Montabella were newcomers to the event.

The twist off from the event is Fremont and Grant will rematch again on Thursday for bragging rights, and most importantly, the CSAA Gold title.

The Tigers came out on top of their pool, posting three wins and a close split with Newaygo (25-24, 24-25), earning the number one seed.

Continuing on to tournament play, Grant and Fremont battled in three exciting sets in the finals.

The Packers edged Grant with scores of 25-20, 20-25 and 15-9.

Grant played well with Elli McAree making 31 kills and four blocks, Emma Joppich had 32 digs, 18 aces and 17 kills, Emmet Tinkham had 16 kills, 14 aces and a block and Lacey McCallum posted 75 assists, 22 aces, 22 digs and 13 kills.

Emma Muckey also offered up 32 digs for the Tigers.

Ten players were selected by officials for the All-Tournament Team including Lacey McCallum (Hesperia), Kayla Fisk (Newaygo), Carson Scarlavai (White Cloud), Alexis LaCount (Fremont), Chloe Share (Grant), Kendra Ray (Chippewa Hills), Makenna Outwin and Kennedei Jager (Cedar Springs), Katelynn Holmes (Reed City) and Taylor Kruse (Marion).