It’s time for the big show in Michigan high school wrestling, the MHSAA individual state finals, and once again the area has a bulging contingent of wrestlers vying for titles in all four divisions at Ford Field in Detroit on Friday and Saturday.

A total of 47 area wrestlers will be vying for individual state titles, including seven alone from Whitehall which won a team district championship.  

Grand Haven is second with six wrestlers competing, while Fremont and Hart, Mason County Central, Montague, Ravenna and Hesperia are sending three apiece to the dance.  

Whitehall’s wrestlers competing include Ira Jenkins (45-0 at 285), Nicholas Blanchard (42-3 at 171), Max Brown (37-5 at 145), Sean Cook (43-2 at 215), Alec Pruett (36-10 at 152), Wyatt Jenkins (37-8 at 160) and Riley Buys (34-10 at 130).  

Dayne Arnett (28-5 at 215), Dylan Cummings (28-19 at 152), Aidan Pike (37-6 at 119), Logan Vining (22-6 at 125), Xavier Rodriguez (32-13 at 140) and Bode Wilson (31-13 at 145) will represent Grand Haven.  

Representing Hart will be Trayce Tate (37-4 at 119), Mason Cantu (44-1 at 145), Leo Guardarrama (44-2 at 215) and Zane Thomas (34-15 at 160).  

Going for Fremont are Tee Ward (46-2 at 119), Killian Prewitt (38-6 at 103), Michael Romero (38-10 at 189) and Trey Myers (40-6 at 145).  

Representing Mason County Central are Andrew Quinn (48-1 at 285), Hunter Sanford (45-4 at 112) and Zane Thomas (125).

Montague also has three wrestlers going to state, Cale Coppress (42-1 at 135), Tristan Winkleblack (40-6 at 140) and Chris Aebig (32-10 at 119).  

Hesperia has three wrestlers going, River Roberson (41-2 at 135), Alex Sayer (37-10 at 112) and Brandon Quinn (37-13 at 145).  

Mona Shores is sending Jake Moll (35-12 at 160) and Gavyn Stout (40-4 at 145).

Ravenna is being represented by Zeke Thompson (44-7 at 160) and Landen Goerbig (34-18 at 285).  

Reeths-Puffer is sending two wrestlers, Ian Cook (42-4 at 103) and Kaden Malotke (30-6 at 135).

Fruitport will be represented by Roan Cooper (38-8 at 119) and Nash Cooper (40-7 at 110).

Grant is sending Brady Jacobs (33-9 at 152) and Alex Russo (34-4 at 112).  

Shelby is sending Travis Boughan (27-18 at 189) and Nick Cano (25-11 at 103).

Representing Kent City are Logan McVicker (35-16 at 285) and Carson Gorton (37-10 at 103).  

Catholic Central has David Hill (32-6 at 152) competing for a title.

Jaxon Tuttle (29-11 at 189) will represent Orchard View.

In listing the wrestlers who competed at the MHSAA state wrestling finals Saturday, the LocalSportsJournal inadvertently ommitted the name of Ravenna grappler Norman Slade, Jr. as the third Bulldog to advance out of the regionals to the state finals.

Wrestling at 125 pounds, Slade wrestled Union City sophomore Landyn Crance in the first round and was defeated by a pin in 1:12. In the second round he faced Hayden Hentkowski of Rogers City and lost by a fall in 2:30 and was eliminated.