Local Sports Journal

Kent City had nine wrestlers advance to regionals at the Division 4 individual wrestling district at Montague on Saturday.

The top-wrestlers in each weight class advance to Saturday’s regional at Bangor.

Kent City’s Shane Rodenburg (171) and Konner Wolter (215) both won district championships.

Jose Davila (103), Ryan Brockheim (119), Brendon Rodenburg (135), Jayson Ellicott (140), K J Herremans (152), Arnold Chavez (215) and Tom Devos (285) also qualified for regionals for the Eagles.

Holton’s Garret Martin (119) was also a district champion and will be joined at regionals by Jordan Whitener (112), Hayden Cregg (135) and Kyle Jelinek (140).

Montague’s Sawyer Smith (152) was a district champion and teammates Brandon Hammell (160) and Collin Pineda (285) also qualified for regionals.

Ravenna Scott Hutson (171) and Gabe Zimmer (189) also qualified for regionals.