MUSKEGON–Four area high school soccer players who turned in stellar seasons this fall were honored by being named first-team all-state.

The teams were released by the Michigan High School Soccer Coaches Association.

Reeths-Puffer junior Liam Smith was named first team in Division 2. In Division 4, the state champion Western Michigan Christian Warriors had a trio of first-team selections – Jared Olson, Gavin Riksen and Ashton Leffring.

In all, 18 area players were honored in Division 1-4. There were four players named to the second team, two on the third team and eight garnered honorable mention honors.

Division 4

The Warriors, who culminated the season with a 1-0 victory over Ann Arbor Greenhills in the state finals, had three of their senior leaders honored.

Olson, a goalkeeper, and forwards Riksen and Leffring were voted to the first team on Coach Ben Buursma’s squad. That trio was instrumental in helping the Warriors turn around a slow start to the season and led the way to the school’s eighth state title since the MHSAA began sponsoring boys’ soccer in 1982.

North Muskegon’s Leighton Hunt, a junior goalkeeper, was named to the second team as well as teammate Gabe Lenius, a senior midfielder.

Division 3

Three area players were honored in Division 3.

High-scoring forward Arturo Romero from Oakridge was named to the second team.

Honorable mention choices included Ben Schlaff, a senior defender from Manistee and Whitehall’s Jackson Houtteman, a senior midfielder.

Division 2

Smith, who led the Rockets with 28 goals, was a threat to put the ball in the back of the net every time he touched the ball. As a sophomore, he scored 27 goals and topped that mark by one this season.

Reeths-Puffer won a district title before falling 3-0 to Forest Hills Northern in the semifinal round of regionals. Liam McHugh, a senior defender, was named honorable mention for the Rockets.

Ludington had two players honored, led by junior forward Parker Wendt. Teammate Spencer Holmes, a junior forward, as an honorable mention choice.

Fruitport had two honorable mention players in senior goalkeeper Justin Laus and junior defender Brady Brown.

Division 1

Mona Shores senior midfielder Abram Freye was a second-team all-stater. Teammates Kaden Pulaski, a senior forward, and Dan VanderPloeg, a senior midfielder, were named honorable mention.

Grand Haven’s Ryan Heck, a senior midfielder, was a third-team selection.