MONTAGUE – Led by a 1-2 finish, the Ludington Orioles captured the West Michigan Conference-Lakes cross country jamboree in Montague on Tuesday.
Ludington’s Summer Brower and Annabelle Lowman helped the Orioles easily outdistance the rest of the field. Ludington finished with 26 points, followed by Fremont (85), Manistee (86), Whitehall (95), Montague (103) and Oakridge (124). 
The Fremont boys captured the title with 33 points, outdistancing runner-up Ludington (53), Whitehall (78), Montague (109), Manistee (116) and Oakridge (134). Sean Pettis led the way for the Packers with a time of 16:31.57.
In the girls’ race, Brower completed the course in 19:43.22 and claimed first place. Lowman followed second with a time of 20:08.60. Three other runners finished in the Top 10, including Nadia Grierson in sixth place in 21:00.93, Christina Theis in seventh place in 21:27.96 and Mackenzie Keillor in 10th with a time of 21:56.53.
Fremont was paced by a fourth-place finish by sophomore Linnea Page, who finished in 20:09.69. The next Packer to finish was Joelle Patten, who took 14th place in 22:59.70. Elise Pfeiffer, a senior, came in 19th place with a time of 23:39.26. The final two runners who figured in the scoring were junior Rachel Maddox, who finished 25th in 24:13.19 and freshman Kira Manchip in 28th place in 24:56.36.
The Mariners’ top finisher was senior Cecilia Postma, whose time of 20:16.33 was good for a fifth-place finish. Other Manistee runners included sophomore Georgia Haag, who finished 16th with a time of 23:26.52, junior Kate Somsel in 20th place at 23:47.33, junior Audrey Huizinga in 21st place in 23:51.41 and sophomore Alayna Edmondson, who came in 26th with a time of 24:32.20.
Whitehall placed two runners in the Top 10, including junior Cami Kraai, who finished in third place with a time of 20:09.33, and junior Adalyn Britton, who came in eighth in 21:34.18. Other Whitehall top finishers included a 22nd-place finish for Lily Britton in 23:54.65, Kassidy Parmely in 33rd place in 25:35.51 and Isabewlla Izaguirre, who finished in 26:03.38 and came in 35th.
Montague’s first finisher was senior Cammie Erickson, whose time of 22:47.21 was good for 13th place. Other Wildcat runners to figure in the scoring were Grace Torsch in 15th place in 23:24.28, Emma Pendell in 18th place at 23:35.93, Greta Auch in 31st place in 25:12.34 and freshman Erica Hansen in 32nd place with a time of 25:12.88.
Oakridge featured one runner in the Top 10 – senior Merceydez Patton, whose time of 21:37.69 was good for ninth place. Raegan Ruel was 11th in 22:04.71, Milla Hanks was 34th in 25:52.58, Chasity Nuell was 40th in 27:44.09 and Ashlyn Dusen was 46th in 29:47.88.
In the boys’ race, Pettis crossed the finish line more than 30 seconds ahead of the runner-up.
After Pettis, the Packers had three other runners finish in the Top 10. Carter Sherman came in third place in 17:09.88, Issac Romero was sixth in 17:44.91 and Chase Lowery was ninth with a time of 18:12.95. The fifth runner was Cole Lowery, who came in 14th place with a time of 18:33.43.
Jose Flores’ fourth-place finish paced Ludington to its runner-up finish. Flores finished in 17:28.05. The Orioles received an eighth-place finish from Noah Lowman in 17:52.96, an 11th-place from David Reisterer in 18:16.23, a 13th place from Trey Keson in 18:29.33 and a 17th-place finish from freshman Gabe Grierson in 18:45.78.
Stewart Waters came in second place to lead the Whitehall team to a third-place finish. Waters toured the course in 17:05.31. He was followed by teammates Hunter Parsons (seventh, 17:46.99), Andrew Boeringa (15th, 18:36.03), Tyler Van Antwerp (29th, 20:31.66) and Matthew Badley (31st, 20:44.56).
Montague was led by Clay Johnson, whose time of 18:15.10 was good for 10th place. Other Wildcat runners included Alix Draves in 21st place with a time of 19:25.10, Matthew Leatherman in 26th place in 20:07.47, Brock Hunter in 28th at 20:25.22 and Owen Raeth in 33rd with a time of 21:02.17.
Manistee’s best finisher was Christian Schramski, who came in 12th place with a time of 18:29.31. He was followed by Kaden Worch, who was 20th in 19:12.27, Jack O’Donnell in 22nd at 19:31.07, Drew Mendians, who was 30th in 20:42.62 and Ajae Gouker, whose time of 22:40.39 was good for 42nd place.
Peyton Ruel ran a strong race for Oakridge and came in fifth place with a time of 17:31.13. Other Eagle runners included Lawson Miller (34th, 21:02.54), Bryce Falbe (35th, 21:08.29), Blake Armstrong (36th, 21:14.91) and Zane Baron (44th, 23:13.88).