BENZONIA–The Pete Moss Invitational was held at Benzie Central High School on Friday.

In the Small Varsity division Mason County Eastern finished with a team score of 77 in the boys’ race. First place went to Johannesburg-Lewiston (23) and Frankfort finished third (109). Pentwater finished fifth (127).

The top three runners on Friday were Jacob Wartenberg (16:40) of Johannesburg-Lewiston, Nate Wing (17:07) of Mason County Eastern and Malaki Gascho (17:14) of Johannesburg-Lewiston.

The top three runners for Mason County Eastern were Wing, Peter Hybza finishing 15th (18:48), and Luke Niedzielski finishing 20th (19:05).

The top finishers for Pentwater were Abe VanDuinen in 14th (18:40), Mitchel Daniels in 24th (19:21) and Wyatt Roberts in 36th (20:34).

For the girls, Mason County Eastern finished in third (99) behind first-place Johannesburg-Lewiston (26) and a point behind second-place Buckley (98). Pentwater finished in eighth place (196).

Buckley’s Aiden Harrand won the race with a time of 19:38. Johannesburg-Lewiston runners Allie Nowak (20:33) and Madalyn Agren (20:38) finished in second and third.

Mason County Eastern top runners were Lucy Shoup in ninth (22:25), Lauren Niedzielski in 11th (22:37), and Olivia Wing in 18th (23:44).

For Pentwater, Anna VanDuinen came in 16th (23:22), Abby Hughes in 46th (26:47), and Lauren Davis in 54th (30:35).