WHITEHALL — Seven area wrestlers were crowned individual district champions at the MHSAA Division 2 district held at Whitehall on Saturday.

Home cooking proved beneficial for the Vikings, who had four individual champions on the day. Fruitport had two wrestlers earn titles, while Reeths-Puffer had one.  

The Vikings saw freshman Wyatt Jenkins crowned champion at 160 pounds when he pinned junior Jeremy VanderMolen in 1:37.  

Whitehall senior Nicholas Blanchard had his hand raised in triumph at 171 pounds when he pinned junior Allendale junior Josh VanderMolen in 4:48 for the title.  

Shane Cook, a Whitehall junior, won the 215 championship with a pin in 5:26 over Isaac Sterenberg, a senior from Hamilton, and lastly Whitehall senior Ira Jenkins won the 285 tile when Holland senior Samuel Jimenez had to withdraw because of injury in the final.  

Fruitport junior Roan Cooper won all three of his matches by decision, two of them by only one point, including the final, 5-4 over junior Tyler Brown of Allendale at 119.  

Nash Cooper, a junior, collected Fruitport’s other individual title with an 11-5 decision over senior Murphy Crandle of Coopersville at 140 pounds.  

Puffer freshman Ian Cook, who came into the tournament with a 39-3 record, won his first two matches by pin, and then earned a 6-3 decision over Malachi Kapenga of Hamilton in the final at 103 pounds.  

Whitehall also qualified sophomore senior Riley Buys (second at 130), senior Max Brown (second at 145), senior Alec Pruett (second at 152), sophomore Darnell Mack (third at 152), Nolan Taranko (third at 103), sophomore Ryne Christensen (third at 119) and senior Bradyn VanPatten (fourth at 189).  

Spring Lake freshman Gabe Trask finished second at 125 and qualified for the regional, and he was joined by Laker junior Peyton Ball who was third at 140.  

Reeths-Puffer junior Kaden Malotke was second at 135 while senior Parker Lindstrom finished fourth at 160.

Fruitport qualified senior Peyton DeHoog who finished third at 145.

Spring Lake 2021-2022 Wrestling team (Photo/Radium Photo)

Fruitport 2021-2022 Wrestling team (Photo/Fruitport Athletic Dept.)

Reeths-Puffer 2021-2022 Wrestling Team (Photo/Joe Lane)